Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards

The Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards program allows NAMI members, NAMI State Organizations and NAMI Affiliates throughout the country to honor the exceptional contributions that many psychiatrists make to improve the lives of people living with mental health conditions.

Since the Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards program was established in 1990, more than 1,000 awards have been presented. Many psychiatrists have described this award as one of the most important honors that they can receive because it comes from the people who need their help the most.

All of the nominations must be submitted through a NAMI State Organization or NAMI Affiliate office. For more information about NAMI's Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards program, click here. The submission period has closed.

NAMI honored six doctors for the 2021 NAMI Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards.

Jacqueline Feldman, M.D., DLFAPA

Bruce C. Gage, M.D.

Joseph Guillory, M.D.

Sherifa Iqbal, M.D., MPH, MBA, DFAPA, FASAM

Isabel Norian, M.D.

Ruth S. Shim, M.D.