Press Releases

NAMI Honors Exemplary Psychiatrists for Inspirational Work in the Mental Health Field

Apr 24 2014

ARLINGTON, Va., April 24, 2014—The National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) will honor 23 doctors as Exemplary Psychiatrists at the American Psychiatric Association's (APA) annual conference in New York City on May 4.

"NAMI is grateful to these psychiatrists for their dedication in helping individuals living with mental illness," said NAMI Executive Director Mary Giliberti. "They stand out in their communities and deserve national recognition.”

NAMI's annual Exemplary Psychiatrists Awards honor doctors who go "an extra mile" in their commitment to providing excellent mental health care. They are working tirelessly to reduce the stigma that has traditionally surrounded mental illness and working closely with NAMI members in their communities to raise awareness and advocate for improvements in mental health care.

NAMI State Organizations or NAMI Affiliates nominate each year's honorees.

Hagop S. Akiskal, M.D. – La Jolla
Timothy Pylko, M.D. – San Marino

John W. Prather, M.D. – Savannah

Ronald Brinck, M.D. – Sioux City

Leanne Truehart, M.D. – Covington

David C. Henderson. M.D. – Boston

Abdallah E. Zamaria, M.D. – Saint Clair Shores

Carrie M. Borchardt, M.D. – St.Paul
Kelvin O. Lim, M.D. – Minneapolis

New Hampshire
R. Joffree Barrnett, M.D. – Concord

New Jersey
Bindu Khanna, M.D. – West Orange

New Mexico
Gabriel A. Hernandez, M.D. – Las Cruces

New York
Lisa Dixon, M.D., M.P.H. – New York

Brian Welsh, M.D. – Kent
Patrick Runnels, M.D. – Cleveland

R. Murali Krishna, M.D., D.L.F.A.P.A. – Oklahoma City

Suzanne Vogel-Scibilia, M.D. – Beaver

South Carolina
Meera Narasimhan, M.D., D.F.A.P.A. – Columbia

Michael M. Stone, M.D. – Alvin

Mathew McCarthy, M.D. – Kenosha

Mark D. Vuolo, M.D. – Casper

About NAMI

NAMI is the nation's largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness.